Modi 3.0: Dr Jitendra Singh assumes charge as the Minister of Science & Technology

He has retained the responsibilities of same ministries that he headed previously during the second term of Modi government

New Delhi: Dr Jitendra Singh has taken charge as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Science and Technology that oversees the key scientific agencies such as Department of Science and Technology (DST); Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and Department of Biotechnology (DBT).
Present on the occasion were Prof Ajay K Sood, Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA); Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, DST; and Rajesh Gokhale, Secretary, DBT.
Dr Singh has also retained the other ministries that he headed during the second term of Modi government. He has also taken the change of Ministry of Earth Sciences, Prime Minister’s Office; Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space.
Elected to 18th Lok Sabha from Udhampur for the third time, Dr Singh won with the majority of 1,24,373 votes.
Besides being a medical doctor, Dr Singh has also worked as a newspaper columnist. He was a professor of diabetes and endocrinology, Life Patron, Research Society for Study of Diabetes in India (RSSDI); Founder Executive Member, Diabetes in Pregnancy Study India, a consultant, clinical practitioner, author of eight books, and a newspaper columnist.
Dr Singh is the ex-chairman for the National Scientific Committee Diabetes and the Research Society for the Study of Diabetes in India.