Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar 2024: Govt seeks nominations in the field of Science, Technology & Innovation

The names for fifty-six awards in four categories, viz., Vigyan Ratna, Vigyan Shri, Vigyan Yuva and Vigyan Team shall be announced on National Technology Day (11 May 2024)

New Delhi: The Government of India has announced the “Rastriya  Vigyan Puraskar” in the  field of Science, Technology and Innovation. The National Award recognizes outstanding and inspiring scientific, technological and innovation contributions of researchers, technologist and innovators.
Nominations/Applications are invited for the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP) for individuals or in teams in various fields of science, technology and technology­ led innovation.
The awards shall be given in following four categories:
  1. Vigyan Ratna (VR): Maximum of three awards to be bestowed to recognize life time achievements & contributions made in given field of Science and Technology.
  2. Vigyan Shri (VS): Maximum of 25 awards to be given to recognize the distinguished contributions in given field of Science and Technology.
  3. Vigyan Yuva: Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB) award: Maximum of 25 awards to be given to recognize and encourage young scientists who made an exceptional contribution in given field of Science and Technology.
  4. Vigyan Team (VT) award: Maximum of three awards may be awarded to a team comprising of three or more scientists/researchers/innovators who have made an exceptional contribution working in a team in given field of Science and Technology.
The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar shall be given in the following 13 domains, namely: Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics & Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology & Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others.
The nominations for this bouquet of awards are invited on Award Portal of Ministry of Home Affairs from 14th January 2024 to 28th February 2024. The general guidelines and RVP details are available on the awards portal. The awards this year are being coordinated by Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) under the Ministry of Science and Technology.
The awards shall be announced on 11th May 2024 (National Technology Day). The Award Ceremony for all categories of awards will be held on 23rd August 2024 (National Space Day).